The International Association for Great Lakes Research (IAGLR) is a scientific organization made up of researchers studying the Laurentian Great Lakes, other large lakes of the world, and their watersheds, as well as those with an interest in such research. IAGLR members encompass all scientific disciplines with a common interest in the management of large lake ecosystems on many levels.

We are a member-run professional association that holds an annual Conference on Great Lakes Research. Our Journal of Great Lakes Research is a highly respected professional publication with broad distribution.


2014 Award and Scholarship Winners

IAGLR honored many individuals for their contributions to the Association, the Journal of Great Lakes Research,  and outstanding Great Lakes science at the 57th Conference on Great Lakes Research.  Congratulations to all!

IAGLR Scholarship: Joseph H. Fillingham (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)
Paul W. Rodgers Scholarship:  Carson Prichard (University of Toledo)
Norman S. Baldwin Fisheries Science Scholarship:  Cassandra J. May (The Ohio State University)
Chandler-Misener Award:  Mary T. Negus and Joel C. Hoffman
Anderson-Everett Award:  Robert Heath
Editors Award:  Tom Stewart (Onatrio Ministry of Natural Resources)
Lifetime Achievement Award:  D.V. (Chip) Weseloh (Canadian Wildlife Service)
2013 IAGLR-Hydrolab Best Student Presentation Awards:   Jason Doll (oral presentation) and Ahsan Akram (poster presentation) | 07/11/14

Ohio Journalist wins 2014 Vallentyne Award

IAGLR presented the prestigious IAGLR-Jack R. Vallentyne Award to Tom Henry, environmental reporter, editorial writer and op-ed columnist at The Blade in Toledo for his important and sustained efforts to inform and educate the public and policymakers on Great Lakes issues. Many thanks for his support in motivating current and future generations to further Great Lakes protection and restoration!  | 05/29/14

57th IAGLR Conference on Great Lakes Research May 26th-30th!

Looking forward to seeing you at the  57th annual Conference on Great Lakes Research at McMaster University!   Several hundred scientists, 50 sessions, awards, scholarships, exhibits, and more ... join us on twitter! | 05/24/14

JGLR Issues

The 2014 J. of Great Lakes Research volume 40:2 and JGLR volume 40:Supplement 1 The Continuing Effects of Multiple Stressors in Saginaw Bay Issues are now online.  Check out the web releases for coverage of several articles. | 05/23/14

News Archive »

Also visit the IAGLR Large Lakes Research Calendar to see what's going on in the large lakes research community!

We are committed to sharing our collective expertise with interested members of the media, policymakers and the general public to inform public policy and decision-making towards protecting the environmental health of large lake watersheds.